This search is sponsored by Cabestan

Search in :
GPHG - Grand Prix d'Horlogerie de Genève
Geneva Watchmaking Grand Prix - A look at the 2014 jury

Geneva Watchmaking Grand Prix A look at the 2014 jury

The jury for this year’s Geneva Watchmaking Grand Prix consists of 24 people whose names read like a who’s who list of fine watchmaking.

Under the chairmanship of Aurel Bacs, an expert in watchmaking and watch collecting, who recently penned his first article as a new contributor for Worldtempus, the jury will face the challenge of picking the winners in each of the twelve categories of the competition, including for the new prizes of best chronograph, tourbillon, calendar watch, chiming watch, mechanical exception, ladies’ mechanical watch and watches with a retail price of under 8,000 Swiss francs.

Watch brands need to make their submissions by 23 June and here are the people that they will need to win over with their arguments:

Chairman : Aurel Bacs, expert in watchmaking and watch collecting / Switzerland


Carlos Alonso, publisher and editor-in-chief of Tiempo de Relojes and director of the Salon Internacional Alta Relojeria (SIAR) / Mexico

Jean-Philippe Arm, editor-in-chief of Watch Around / Switzerland

René Beyer, co-owner and CEO of Beyer Chronometrie SA and the Zurich Watch and Clock Museum / Switzerland

Benjamin Clymer, blogger, founder and editor-in-chief of Hodinkee / USA

Zhixiang Ding, publisher and editor-in-chief of Chronos China / China

Elizabeth Doerr, specialist freelance watch journalist / Germany

Philippe Dufour, watchmaker and conceptor / Switzerland

Moritz Elsaesser, CW21 watchmaker/repairer, president of Mainly Watches, collector / USA

Dominique Fléchon, historian and expert for the Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie / Switzerland-France

Nick Foulkes, historian, author and writer on luxury, in particular for the Financial Times / United Kingdom

John Goldberger, watch collector, author and publisher of books on collector’s watches / Italy

Nazanin Lankarani, freelance journalist, writer on art, in particular for the International New York Times / France-Iran

Sean Li, collector, editor-in-chief of Revolution Hong Kong and watchmaking editorial director of Tatler Asia / China

Takeshi Matsuyama, author, watch historian and writer for Men’s EX / Japan

John Mayer, singer, guitarist, producer and collector / USA

Paola Pujia, editor-in-chief of Orologi-Le Misure del Tempo / Italy

William Rohr, collector, director of TimeZone.com, watch expert for Bonhams Auctioneers / USA

Abdul Hamied Seddiqi, vice-president of Ahmed Seddiqi & Sons / Dubai

Claude Sfeir, collector, gemmologist, jeweller / Lebanon

Antoine Simonin, watchmaker, teacher, former director of Wostep / Switzerland

Michael Tay, director of The Hour Glass Limited / Singapore

Patrick Wehrli, watchmaking expert, Passion for Watchmaking / Switerzland

Jean-Michel Wilmotte, architect and town planner / France


Michele Sofisti, CEO of Girard-Perregaux, the winner of the Golden Hand in 2013, which is out of competition in 2014. As a reminder, the winner of the Golden Hand at the Geneva Watchmaking Grand Prix is automatically out of competition for the following edition and its founder or manager is invited to sit on the jury for one year.

Recommended reading