This search is sponsored by Longines

Search in :
Hublot - The "Golden Foot" award goes to Iker Casillas

Hublot The "Golden Foot" award goes to Iker Casillas

The Spanish goalkeeper Iker Casillas has been chosen by fans as the Hublot Golden Foot best player.

For the fifteenth time, the greatest footballers in the world met in Monaco, invited by H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco for the presentation of the Golden Foot Hublot Award. Founded in 2003 by Antonio Caliendo, the former renowned agent who managed the careers of Maradona and Trezeguet, this international prize stands out for two reasons: the winner is chosen by the fans, and not by journalists, and it can only be won once. 

 For the second time, Hublot has committed to the Golden Foot organisation and its President and Founder, Antonio Caliendo, with the goal of supporting this “democratic” award so as to make it into the equivalent of a new “Ballon d’Or”.  

 The people have cast their vote: the Spanish goalkeeper Iker Casillas has been voted best player of the year! This award crowns an exceptional career: the 36-year-old Spaniard has accumulated three Champions League titles with Real Madrid as well as two European Championships and one World Cup with the Spanish team. During a ceremony held on 6 and 7 November at Hôtel Le Méridien in Monaco in the presence of H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco, Iker Casillas was presented with his Hublot Golden Foot Award trophy, as well as a Hublot Big Bang watch.  

 “Among all the titles and awards received during my career, the Hublot Golden Foot is particularly moving for me! It’s the fans who have voted! I’d like to thank them from the bottom of my heart. I’d also like to thank the Golden Foot organisation and Hublot for giving the supporters the opportunity to express themselves. They are the ones who make football so magical!”  Iker Casillas, winner of the Golden Foot Hublot 2017 

 It should also be noted that the Hublot Golden Foot organisation was keen to celebrate the careers of other legends by honouring them with a special award. These players include: Oliver Kahn, the legendary German goalkeeper; the former player and current Under 20s coach for China, Li Ming; world champion Marcel Desailly; the exceptional striker Michael Owen; and the Italian international, now coach, Roberto Mancini. 


2003  Roberto Baggio, Italy
2004  Pavel Nedved, Czech Republic
2005  Andry Shevchenko, Ukraine
2006  Ronaldo, Brazil
2007  Alessandro Del Piero, Italy
2008  Roberto Carlos, Brazil
2009  Ronaldinho, Brazil
2010  Francesco Totti, Italy
2011  Ryan Giggs, Wales
2012  Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Sweden
2013  Didier Drogba, Côte d’Ivoire
2014   Andres Iniesta, Spain
2015  Samuel Eto’o, Cameroon
2016  Gianluigi Buffon, Italy
2017  Iker Casillas 

2003  Maradona, Eusebio, Riviera, Fontaine 
2004  di Stefano, Zoff, Platini
2005  Gento, Best, Weah, Riva, Rivelino
2006  Ghiggia, Puskas, Facchetti, Kopa, Zico
2007  Müller, Stoitchkov, Kempes, Rossi, Romario
2008  Aldair, Belanov, Suarez, Zidane
2009  Rummenigge, Santos, Blokhine, Higuita, Boniek
2010  Dunga, Varallo, Beckenbauer, Antognoni
2011  Pelé, Zanetti, Figo, Madjer, Gullit
2012  Cantona, Baresi, Matthaus, Pelé
2013  Valderrama, Ardiles, Papin
2014   Panenka, Pfaff, Sukur, Nakata, Hamm, Milla
2015  Hagi, Passarella, Dasaev, Trezeguet
2016  Deco, Carles Puyol, Didier Deschamps, Claudio Ranieri, Frank de Boer
2017  Oliver Kahn, Marcel Desailly, Michael Owen, Li Ming, Roberto Mancini 


The brand

From the outset, Hublot has embodied design and innovation that differ markedly from the established watchmaking order. With the impetus provided by Jean-Claude Biver, by 2004 these values had already become the basis of a new DNA, leading the brand to develop particularly audacious timepieces – most of them with a highly-developed sporting aspect.

Find out more >

All the news >

Contact brand >

All the watches >

Recommended reading