Press release

The prize was conferred to Director Spike Lee at the awards ceremony which took place on Friday, August 31st during the 69th Venice Film Festival,  directed by Alberto Barbera and organized by the Biennale di Venezia chaired by Paolo Baratta.

Following the awards ceremony, the 69th Venice Film Festival presented the world premiere screening of the new documentary by Spike Lee, Bad 25, filmed on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of Michael Jackson's historic album, Bad.


Spike Lee © Jaeger-LeCoultre


Jaeger-LeCoultre awarded Spike Lee with its iconic Reverso watch carrying a special engraving on its case-back.

The Director of the Venice Film Festival, Alberto Barbera, in regards to this acknowledgment to Spike Lee, stated: “Spike Lee is a bold creative spirit, the author of daring and corrosive films, often unpredictable and provocative in the best sense of the term. Films that challenge us to rethink our prejudices and our preconceptions.”

For the past five years, the Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker prize has annually rewarded individuals having made a significant contribution to the development of contemporary cinema: Takeshi Kitano (2007), Abbas Kiarostami (2008), Agnès Varda (2008), Sylvester Stallone (2009), Mani Ratnam (2010) and Al Pacino (2011).